Pac-12 Softball Conference Championship


The Pac-12 conference has a combined 24 out of the 39 NCAA softball championships all-time. That’s 19 more than the next closest league. The Pac-12 teams that have one at least one National Championship include: UCLA (12), Arizona (8), Arizona State (2), California (1), and Washington (1).

The Pac-12 Conference softball championships will begin in 2023. The event will be hosted on Pac-12 campuses, rotating annually among the league’s nine softball-playing teams.

The decision to start the conference championship event was as a way of providing increased exposure and community engagement for the sport across the Pac-12 footprint.

“The Pac-12 could not be more excited to add a softball championship to its lineup of postseason events,” Pac-12 Commissioner George Kliavkoff said. “This new championship will offer student-athletes an amazing experience against top-notch competition, elevate the league’s softball brand in advance of the NCAA Tournament, and provide fans the opportunity to celebrate the incredible success of Pac-12 softball with a marquee event on our campuses.”

The format for the event is that each of the teams will play once per day, with the four-day event beginning with a play-in game between the eighth and ninth-place teams in the regular-season conference standings. The play-in winner will advance to an eight team, single-elimination bracket with the quarterfinals, semifinals and championship being contested on the following three days. The winner of the Pac-12 Softball Championship will receive the Conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Additional details about the 2023 Pac-12 Softball Championship will be announced at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s